Once Upon a Time Daycare
13470 Fort Road, T5A 1C5 · Belvedere · (780) 756-2447
At a glance
| Ages served | Infant · Toddler · Preschool · School-age |
|---|---|
| Hours | Not confirmed. Ask the program for its current hours. |
| Licensed capacity | 90 |
| Licence | Licensed · renewal date not published |
Licensed capacity is the maximum the province approves at one time, not a live count of children. No provincial dataset publishes how many spaces are free, so this page does not guess. Call to ask about openings.
Fees
Participates in Alberta's $15/day program
| Daycare, full-time (100+ hrs/month) | $326.25 / month |
|---|---|
| Daycare, part-time (50–99 hrs/month) | $230.00 / month |
Provincial rates effective 1 April 2025.
Out-of-school care is not covered by the provincial grant at any program. Those fees are set by the operator and are not published in open data, so contact them directly.
Lower income? A separate subsidy may apply
Alberta also runs a separate income-tested child care subsidy, which applies particularly to kindergarten and school-age children needing care outside school hours, the care the $15/day grant does not cover. Eligibility depends on household income, the child's age and the program type.
Provincial $15/day rate applies to daycare. Out-of-school care and preschool are not grant-eligible; optional fees may apply.
Licensing inspections
Government of Alberta record39 findings 39 with a recorded remedy across 35 inspections between December 2019 – December 2025. Findings are routine in licensed childcare and most are resolved quickly, so a longer history means more findings, not a worse program. Read the remedy column before the count.
How to read and compare this history
Do not compare this count with another program's. How much history we hold varies from program to program, and for this one it runs December 2019 – December 2025. A program renamed, re-licensed, or whose records we could not confidently attribute will show a shorter history here for reasons that say nothing about the care it provides. The site as a whole covers October 2019 – December 2025, but no single program is guaranteed to be covered for all of it.
22 of these findings are no longer published by the province. Each quarterly file holds about 18 months, so older records drop out of the province's current lookup. We keep a copy of every quarter it publishes, which is why they are still here. Each row below links to the file it was actually read from, so it can still be checked, but you will not find them in the province's live search.
| Date | Finding | Reason | Action | Remedied |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jun 11, 2025 | 30.1(a) Staff qualifications - One in every four of the primary staff certified at minimum as a Level 2 ECE | INSPECTION | ORDER TO REMEDY | Aug 1, 2025 |
| Jun 11, 2025 | 28(1)(a) Minimum staffing and general supervision - Seven or more children present two staff on duty, one is a primary staff member | INSPECTION | ORDER TO REMEDY | Aug 1, 2025 |
| Jun 11, 2025 | 27(3)(a)(ii) Ratio and maximum group size - Mixed age groups - At all other times, ratio set out in subsection (1)(b) for majority age of children | COMPLAINT INVESTIGATION | ORDER TO REMEDY | Aug 1, 2025 |
| Jun 11, 2025 | 6(1)(a) Comply with program plan in accordance with Section 2(a)& 5(b) | COMPLAINT INVESTIGATION | ORDER TO REMEDY | Aug 1, 2025 |
| Jun 11, 2025 | 28(1)(d) Minimum staffing and general supervision - Children at all times supervised | COMPLAINT INVESTIGATION | ORDER TO REMEDY | Aug 1, 2025 |
| Jan 20, 2025 | 30.1(a) Staff qualifications - One in every four of the primary staff certified at minimum as a Level 2 ECE | INSPECTION | ORDER TO REMEDY | Feb 26, 2025 |
| Jan 20, 2025 | 23(1)(a) Administration records - Particulars of daily attendance of each child including arrival and departure | INSPECTION | ORDER TO REMEDY | Feb 26, 2025 |
| Jan 20, 2025 | 30(a)(i) Staff qualifications - 8:30-4:30, one in every three of the primary staff certified at minimum as a Level 2 ECE | INSPECTION | ORDER TO REMEDY | Feb 26, 2025 |
| Jan 20, 2025 | 28(1)(d) Minimum staffing and general supervision - Children at all times supervised | INSPECTION | ORDER TO REMEDY | Feb 26, 2025 |
| Jan 20, 2025 | 10(3)(b)(i) Medication - Medication needed by a particular child is accessable only to that child and staff | INSPECTION | ORDER TO REMEDY | Feb 26, 2025 |
| Jan 20, 2025 | 25(1)(a)(ii) Core requirements - Each staff/volunteer provides a current criminal record check to licence holder every 3 years | INSPECTION | ORDER TO REMEDY | Feb 26, 2025 |
| Aug 20, 2024 | 29(2)(a) Primary staff members - Level 1 ECE hired as primary staff member has six months to obtain certifications child development | INSPECTION | ORDER TO REMEDY | Sep 27, 2024 |
| Aug 20, 2024 | 30.1(a) Staff qualifications - One in every four of the primary staff certified at minimum as a Level 2 ECE | INSPECTION | ORDER TO REMEDY | Sep 27, 2024 |
| Aug 20, 2024 | 27(1)(a) Ratios and maximum group size - Minimum primary staff member to child ratio | INSPECTION | ORDER TO REMEDY | Sep 27, 2024 |
| Aug 20, 2024 | 3(1)(b) Child guidance - Reasonable in the circumstances | INSPECTION | ORDER TO REMEDY | Sep 27, 2024 |
| Aug 20, 2024 | 28(1)(d) Minimum staffing and general supervision - Children at all times supervised | INSPECTION | ORDER TO REMEDY | Sep 27, 2024 |
| Aug 20, 2024 | 3(2)(c) Child guidance - Use of physical restraint, confinement or isolation | INSPECTION | ORDER TO REMEDY | Sep 27, 2024 |
| Apr 29, 2024 archived | 25(2)(a) Core requirements - New staff/volunteer must provide criminal record check within 8 weeks of commencement | INSPECTION | ORDER TO REMEDY | May 14, 2024 |
| Feb 7, 2024 archived | 3(2)(c) Child guidance - Use of physical restraint, confinement or isolation | FOLLOW UP TO ENFORCEMENT ACTION | ORDER TO REMEDY | Apr 29, 2024 |
| Feb 7, 2024 archived | 6(a) Notice of changes - Comply with program plan in accordance with Section 2(a)& 5(b) | FOLLOW UP TO ENFORCEMENT ACTION | ORDER TO REMEDY | Apr 29, 2024 |
| Feb 7, 2024 archived | 25(3) Core requirements - One staff member with first aid on duty at all times | FOLLOW UP TO ENFORCEMENT ACTION | ORDER TO REMEDY | Apr 29, 2024 |
| Dec 14, 2023 archived | 3(1)(b) Child guidance - Reasonable in the circumstances | COMPLAINT INVESTIGATION | ORDER TO REMEDY | Feb 7, 2024 |
| Dec 14, 2023 archived | 3(2)(c) Child guidance - Use of physical restraint, confinement or isolation | COMPLAINT INVESTIGATION | ORDER TO REMEDY | Feb 7, 2024 |
| Dec 14, 2023 archived | 6(a) Notice of changes - Comply with program plan in accordance with Section 2(a)& 5(b) | COMPLAINT INVESTIGATION | ORDER TO REMEDY | Feb 7, 2024 |
| Dec 14, 2023 archived | 7(2) Incident reporting - Report each incident to director in manner required by statutory director | COMPLAINT INVESTIGATION | ORDER TO REMEDY | Feb 7, 2024 |
| Nov 6, 2023 archived | 23(1)(a) Administration records - Particulars of daily attendance of each child including arrival and departure | FOLLOW UP TO ENFORCEMENT ACTION | ORDER TO REMEDY | Nov 27, 2023 |
| Oct 13, 2023 archived | 28(1)(d) Minimum staffing and general supervision - Children at all times supervised | FOLLOW UP TO ENFORCEMENT ACTION | ORDER TO REMEDY | Nov 6, 2023 |
| Oct 13, 2023 archived | 27(1)(b) Ratios and maximum group size - Maximum number of children in the group | FOLLOW UP TO ENFORCEMENT ACTION | ORDER TO REMEDY | Nov 6, 2023 |
| Oct 13, 2023 archived | 27(3)(a)(ii) Ratio and maximum group size - Mixed age groups - At all other times, ratio set out in subsection (1)(b) for majority age of children | FOLLOW UP TO ENFORCEMENT ACTION | ORDER TO REMEDY | Nov 6, 2023 |
| Sep 15, 2023 archived | 10(3)(b)(i) Medication - Medication needed by a particular child is accessable only to that child and staff | INSPECTION | ORDER TO REMEDY | Oct 13, 2023 |
| Sep 15, 2023 archived | 28(1)(d) Minimum staffing and general supervision - Children at all times supervised | INSPECTION | ORDER TO REMEDY | Oct 13, 2023 |
| Mar 2, 2023 archived | 28(1)(d) Minimum staffing and general supervision - Children at all times supervised | INSPECTION | ORDER TO REMEDY | Mar 22, 2023 |
| Mar 2, 2023 archived | 10(3)(a) Medication - All medication stored in locked container inaccessible to children | INSPECTION | ORDER TO REMEDY | Mar 22, 2023 |
| Mar 2, 2023 archived | 27(3)(b)(ii) Ratio and maximum group size - Mixed age groups - At all other times, maximum set out in subsection (1)(b) for majority age of children | INSPECTION | ORDER TO REMEDY | Mar 22, 2023 |
| Mar 2, 2023 archived | 23(1)(a) Administration records - Particulars of daily attendance of each child including arrival and departure | INSPECTION | ORDER TO REMEDY | Mar 22, 2023 |
| May 16, 2022 archived | 5(3) Emergency and safety contacts and procedures - Procedures made known to staff and to children where appropriate | INSPECTION | ORDER TO REMEDY | Jun 15, 2022 |
| May 16, 2022 archived | 10(3)(b)(i) Medication - Medication needed by a particular child is accessable only to that child and staff | INSPECTION | ORDER TO REMEDY | Jun 15, 2022 |
| May 16, 2022 archived | 28(1)(d) Minimum staffing and general supervision - Children at all times supervised | FOLLOW UP TO ENFORCEMENT ACTION | ORDER TO REMEDY | Jun 15, 2022 |
| May 10, 2022 archived | 28(1)(d) Minimum staffing and general supervision - Children at all times supervised | INCIDENT REPORT | ORDER TO REMEDY | May 16, 2022 |
A finding can be appealed. The province gives a program 30 days to appeal a non-compliance it considers unwarranted, and says its own file is a point-in-time pull whose rows may change between publications “due to data entry modifications and/or program activity”. A finding shown here may since have been appealed, remedied or revised. This file is dated December 2025.
Source: Child Care Information, Government of Alberta (Open Government Licence – Alberta), snapshot December 2025. Page built 2026-09-15. Read it alongside the province's usage considerations. Operators: see corrections.
Public health inspections are separate, and are not on this page.
Alberta Health Services inspects childcare facilities for food handling, sanitation and similar hazards, apart from the provincial licensing inspections above. AHS publishes those results itself but does not permit them to be republished, so we link rather than copy: search AHS public health inspections with Facility Type set to Child Care and City to Edmonton. AHS notes that only violations found are listed there, so a facility with no entry is not necessarily one with no inspection.
Schools served
| School | How children travel | Distance |
|---|---|---|
| Belvedere | Not stated | 0.73 km |
| Homesteader | Transported why“Out-of-School Care Centres that provide drop-off/pick-up service at Homesteader School:” From the school’s childcare page ·
source ↗ | 1.39 km |
“Not stated” means the school's page names this daycare but does not say whether children walk or are driven. Ask the operator.
From Edmonton Public Schools childcare pages, matched to this program by phone, name and address.
Location
Something out of date?
This page is built from public records and may be incomplete. We have no website, photos or out-of-school-care fees for most programs.
If you run this program, email corrections@daycareregistry.ca and we will correct it and note the date. If you dispute an inspection finding shown above, we take it down first and check it afterwards. We do that when we next rebuild the data, usually within a few days. See corrections for what we do with a request and what we log.